Machinist Apprentice | Tighter Tolerences | Day 182

Running through the final parts of this bundle just in time for the weekend!

Everything went suspiciously smoothly today, and I figured out how I messed up yesterday with the miss-aligned chamfer. In my process for milling these parts, I hold the stock with hard jaws and cut away the top portion and do the detail work until I have a hat-shaped piece, at which point I would flip over and set my G54 work zero off of one of the hole features. 

The mistake occurred when I was flipping the part over, and I accidentally turned it the wrong way around, so instead of the front-facing toward me, it faced the back of the vice. The hole looked to be centered in the part, so I didn't think to double-check it was in the right orientation. 

Trying something a bit different, sort of by accident, I set up what I thought was a 3/4" square endmill to finish the side of the larger parts, but when it was contouring the part, I noticed it wasn't cutting anything. Come to find out, instead of it being a 0.75" it was actually 0.02" undersized for some reason. I measured it and added the correct value into Fusion360 and got spot-on results, and the part came out to be within a few tenths. I'm tempted to measure each of my tool's actual diameters going forward to see if I can get tighter tolerances on my parts!

Making all these parts match in their appearance, I used red Scotchbrite to give it a streaked grain look, removing all the machine marks. This wasn't entirely necessary, but a nice touch to have them all match together!