Machinist Apprentice | Mistakes... Mistakes... | Day 186

Man, my head really isn't in the game today.

Working on this long rectangular part with the pocket at one end, and I made a very dumb and obvious mistake.

Since working on the previous sets of plate parts, I found that measuring the actual tool diameter gave me much tighter tolerances and reduced that variable at play so instead of getting an average of +-0.002," I was getting +-0.0007," which was significantly better!

So, thinking that measuring the tools for each operation was the way to go, I decided to do it for this larger part on the 3-axis mill. I was using a 3/4" for the majority of the roughing and finishing of the side walls. Not thinking about it, I measured the diameter and found it was 0.721" and input that into the program. If I took a second to think about it, I would have realized that that's a far cry from the 0.75" the tool was advertised as and would have double-checked my measurement.

Unfortunately, I didn't, and the machine ran with an incorrect tool diameter set, and I got the part undersized by 0.012" when it should have been oversized by 0.02". This meant I had to scrap the part and start over. However, when going to cut the stock, once again, I made another blunder of a mistake and cut the stock too short. Normally this isn't much of a problem because there is plenty of leftover stock from previous projects; however, due to the length of the part... I was fortunate to find a single piece long enough to fit the size. 

The good news is we have the stock to remake the part; the bad news is, I wasted several hours of work and material cost over small, stupid mistakes. :/