Machinist Apprentice | Cutting Large Blocks of Aluminum | Day 185

Cutting the large block of aluminum today to get ready for the large bracket pieces!

The idea behind cutting this large cube of aluminum in half is to have two pieces in which I can get two parts out of the chunk of material instead of just one. It seems like a massive waste, even with cutting the material down, and it is with about 90% of the material being cut away and recycled. 

However, due to the specs of the parts, it's the only way I can make this part. Ideally, I would use a rolled corner bracket piece and just mill down the outside to get the right shape. However because this part will be used in nuclear testing, there have to be very specific requirements that each piece has to meet to reduce the number of variables that are encountered. I'm not sure about the exact use of the part itself, only a few ideas, but from what I understand it's meant for testing different materials under pressure.