Machinist Apprentice | Broken Rhythm | Day 181

Well, I spoke too soon in my last post, saying I was getting into a nice flow of mistake-free parts making, and I scrapped the first piece of the bundle today, which is too bad.

These parts are super simple 2-op jobs, and I'm doing them all using hard jaws, so flipping it over and finding my g54 work zero is the most time-consuming process. Unfortunately, I somehow forgot to reset the x-axis location point, and when the chamfer endmill was coming around to contour, the top of the part is cut in about a 1/6th into the top of the part, which puts it out of print. 

It's not too big of a deal and doesn't cost much to get the next piece of stock up and going. Going forward, I need to double-check my work zero settings and move the head back and forth to confirm it's in the right location.