Machinist Apprentice | Ball Engraving Technique | Day 179

I am super happy today because I think I have a new record for turning out new parts from nothing to set the machine up, programming, and running the operation to inspection! 

The one tricky part with this that wasn't that much of a problem was the engraving. Each job that comes in from this client has part numbers on them that we need to engrave, and they have it cut into the 3D CAD itself to reference off of. I originally was using an engraving endmill to do these part numbers, but I had some issues where if I were slightly off in my z height, the engraving wouldn't be consistent with the rest of the parts. 

To fix that, my boss had me switch over to a 1/16" ball endmill and I used a pocket clearing toolpath to cut out each character. Fusion360 normally doesn't allow you to use ball endmills for clearing pockets, but I found if you lie to it and tell it you're using a 0.01" ball and leaving stock on the walls, you can get it to produce the CAM! 

To be fair, the parts themselves weren't complicated and had very basic features, but with a two operation run and setting all the tools up, my rough calculation comes to about an hour and a half! This is a single part that's bundled with other parts with similar features, so running through the remaining sets shouldn't take long with everything already setup!